Claude Certification Blog

Claude certification passing score: what 720 means

The Claude certification passing score is 720 on a 100 to 1,000 scale. That does not make it 72%, and Anthropic does not publish a raw percentage or fixed number of correct answers that guarantees a pass.

720 to pass100 to 1,000 scalesame on all 4 exams

8 min read

The Claude certification passing score is a scaled 720 on a 100 to 1,000 range, identical across all four exams. Anthropic says scaling equates forms that may differ slightly in difficulty, but it does not publish the response-to-score mapping. So 720 cannot be converted into a fixed raw percentage or a guaranteed number of questions you may miss from the public information available. The official certification FAQ is the live source for this policy.

The Claude certification passing score is not 72%

Dividing 720 by 1,000 mixes two different quantities: a scaled result and a raw percent correct. The fact that the reporting range begins at 100 does not reveal the conversion either. The official FAQ publishes the range, the 720 cut and the purpose of scaling, but it does not publish a table that maps correct answers to scaled points. Searches for the Claude certification 720 score usually want a percentage, and there is none to give.

So “how many can I get wrong?” has no official public answer. A specific allowance presented without access to the scoring design is an estimate, not a programme rule. For preparation, track whether your accuracy holds across domains on questions you have not seen before, weighted by how much each domain is worth: a weak domain worth 27% costs far more than a weak one worth 7%.

Why the score is scaled at all

All four exam guides describe the test as criterion-referenced: you are measured against a fixed standard that a panel of subject matter experts set in a standard-setting study, not ranked against the other people who sat that week. Anthropic’s explanation of Claude exam scaled scoring is concise: scaled scoring equates scores across exam forms that may have slightly different difficulty. That lets the same 720 standard apply across forms. The public FAQ does not describe the statistical method or expose a response-to-score conversion, so the diagram below stops where the source stops.

Exam responses are equated across forms and reported as a scaled score from 100 to 1,000, where 720 passesWHAT ANTHROPIC PUBLISHESYour exam responsesScores equated across forms100 to 1,000 scale · 720 passes
The public FAQ gives the scale, cut and reason for scaling. It does not disclose the mapping from responses to scaled points.

A raw-to-scaled worked example

Take a candidate who answers 44 of the 60 CCAO-F items correctly, a raw score of about 73 percent. Three readings of that paper give three different numbers, and the point of the table is that none of them is the official one.

Reading of 44 out of 60ArithmeticResult
Raw percent times ten73.3 x 10733
Stretched across the 100 to 1,000 range100 + 900 x 44/60760
Illustrative scaled reportSet by equating, not by home arithmetic738 (illustration only)

The 738 is an illustration, not a figure from any source. Anthropic publishes no conversion, and a real report for the same 44 correct answers could land above or below it depending on which form you drew. What the example shows is the shape of the problem: the first two rows are arithmetic anyone can do at home, they disagree with each other by 27 points, and neither has anything to do with how the reported number is produced. The scaled result comes from the standard-setting study and the equating of forms, so a raw percentage cannot be read as a scaled score in either direction.

What a mock can honestly give you is the raw count. The free timed mocks for CCAO-F, CCDV-F, CCAR-F and CCAR-P report correct answers out of the total with a per-domain table, and they never print a scaled score, because no practice percentage converts to one. Read the raw count for what it is: practice data, not exam data.

What the Claude certification score report gives you

Three things arrive together, on screen, before you leave exam day: a pass or fail result, your scaled score, and percent correct by section. The guides are explicit that the section percentages are there to help you understand your performance and play no part in the pass or fail decision, which rests on the total scaled score alone. The breakdown is the part to use for restudy. It ranks where your errors concentrated; it does not predict the scaled score on a later form.

On a retake, start with the weakest sections while keeping stronger ones in rotation so they do not decay. What to do after a failed attempt turns that breakdown into a repair plan without inventing a raw-score margin.

Reading practice readiness honestly

Because no practice result can promise a scaled score, Cred Farmer reports practice readiness. Your first sitting of each full practice form, guided or timed, controls the readiness band. Study completion, objective coverage, and consistency adjust the score within that band. Counting only first sittings keeps repeated-item recall out of the band, so re-sits and drills never count as evidence. This is not an Anthropic score conversion, an official-exam pass probability, or a booking instruction. That is also why how many mock tests you sit matters less than how many you have left unseen, and why a dated plan like the two-week CCAO-F study plan has to end on a measurement rather than on day 14.

Cred Farmer practice readiness: first sittings of the practice forms set the band and preparation evidence adjusts the score within that bandCred Farmer practice readinessPERFORMANCE-CONTROLLED BANDFirst sittings set the bandPreparation evidence adjusts within itPractice evidence, not a pass probability
The readiness score describes Cred Farmer practice evidence. It is not a predicted scaled score or an official-exam pass probability.

First sittings control the band

In Cred Farmer’s readiness model, your first sitting of each practice form sets the readiness band. Study completion, objective coverage, and consistency adjust the score within that band. The result is practice evidence, not the official 100 to 1,000 scale or a pass probability.

The same bar on all four exams

The published cut is the same across roles and levels. All four exams run 120 minutes and pass at 720, while their question counts differ, another reason not to infer one per-question margin across the family. Practice results remain separate from the official scaled score and should not be presented as a conversion or pass prediction.

ExamQuestionsTimePass
CCAO-F60120 min720 scaled
CCDV-F53120 min720 scaled
CCAR-F60120 min720 scaled
CCAR-P63120 min720 scaled

If you miss it

The waiting period grows after each failed attempt, and every attempt is a new purchase, with your partner-tier discount still applying. Check the live official policy before purchasing or booking another attempt. A results appeal must be submitted within 14 days of the exam date.

14 days after a first fail
30 days after a second
90 days after a third
4 attempts per 12 months

Treat Cred Farmer readiness as one source of practice evidence, not as a pass prediction or booking rule. Check the live certification FAQ before booking because scoring, retake and appeal policies can change. The Claude certification study guide covers a structured preparation routine, and our guide to Claude certification practice exams covers what official material exists. If you want to see why a domain percentage moves the way it does, two worked Claude certification sample questions let you rehearse scenario reasoning, and what each exam covers shows how the current domain weights differ.

Key takeaways

  • 720 scaled is not a published 72% raw score. Anthropic does not disclose the response-to-score mapping.
  • The public official material gives no miss allowance. Treat a specific number as an estimate, not a programme rule.
  • Home arithmetic cannot reproduce the report. The same 44 of 60 reads as 733 or 760 depending on the formula, and the real figure is set by equating, not by either.
  • Scaling exists to equate forms, so the bar means the same thing whichever set of items you draw.
  • The domain breakdown is the useful output: a restudy map, not a prediction and not part of the pass decision.
  • Cred Farmer readiness is practice evidence. First sittings of the practice forms control the band, while preparation evidence adjusts the score within that band.

Checked against the official sources on 17 September 2026: the four Claude certification exam guides (v1.0, effective July 2026, “How the Exam Is Scored”) and the Anthropic Partner Academy certification FAQ.

Get a raw count you can trust, then stop converting it

The free timed mocks report correct answers out of the total and a per-domain table, never a scaled score, because no practice percentage converts to 720. No account is needed. Developer, architect and professional candidates can start with CCDV-F, CCAR-F or CCAR-P.

Take the free CCAO-F mock

Questions

Frequently asked

The follow-up questions people search next.

What is the passing score for the Claude certification?

A scaled score of 720 on a 100 to 1,000 range, the same on all four exams. It is a scaled result rather than a raw percentage, and Anthropic does not publish a fixed number of correct answers that guarantees 720.

What does 720 / 1000 mean?

It is the passing cut on the reporting scale. Every Claude certification exam reports a scaled score between 100 and 1,000, and 720 or above passes. The scale is not a percentage: Anthropic sets the cut through a standard-setting study and publishes no table converting correct answers into scaled points, so 720 does not mean 72 percent.

Is the minimum passing score 70, 80, 85 or 90 percent?

None of those. It is a scaled 720 on a 100 to 1,000 range and Anthropic publishes no percentage equivalent.

How many questions can I get wrong and still pass?

There is no answer in the public official material. Because the response-to-score mapping is not disclosed and forms may differ slightly in difficulty, a specific miss allowance is an estimate rather than a programme rule.

What does the Claude certification score report show?

A pass or fail result, your scaled score, and percentage correct in each exam section. The section breakdown is useful for prioritising retake study, but the guides say it plays no part in the pass or fail decision and it does not predict a future scaled score.

What does Cred Farmer practice readiness mean?

Your first sitting of each full practice form, guided or timed, controls the readiness band. Study completion, objective coverage, and consistency adjust the score within that band. It is Cred Farmer practice evidence, not an official-exam pass probability or a booking instruction.

Keep reading

Related posts

Not affiliated with, or endorsed by, Anthropic or Pearson VUE. Details are summarised from publicly published program information and can change. Always confirm against the official exam guide before booking.

We use cookies and privacy-friendly analytics to understand usage and improve Cred Farmer. Essential features work either way. See our Cookie Policy.